Steering Group

The Steering Group is the decision-making body of the Regional Anti-corruption Initiative. It is composed of high level representatives of South Eastern European (SEE) member countries. Other countries, international organizations or international financial institutions could join the organization or be granted an observer status.

Currently, it is composed of representatives of 9 SEE member countries (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Romania, and Serbia).

It is both a leading body of the organization where regional approaches to corruption problems facing SEE countries can be discussed in an equal footing and relevant decisions can be taken and a collective forum where wide responses to such challenges are formulated and worked out.

The Steering Group meets at least once per year and whenever necessary. Meetings are normally held in different SEE member countries. Meetings are chaired by the RAI Chairperson who is elected from the region by the Steering Group.

The Steering Group operates based on principles of openness, flexibility and consensus.

The activities of the Steering Group are supported by the Executive body of the initiative, the Secretariat, which is based in Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina.